Request My Consultation

How Can We Help?

Quick Contact Form

Send My Info

STATUTORY RAPE Charges

Defending Clients Throughout Nebraska

In Nebraska, what is commonly referred to as statutory rape is charged as sexual assault in the first degree. If you are at least 19 years of age and the victim is at least 12 but less than 16 years of age, you can be charged with this Class 2 felony. Upon conviction, you could be sentenced to a prison sentence of one to 50 years and listed on the sex offender registry. Consent of the victim or a reasonable mistake as to her age is not a defense. Conviction for a second sexual assault in the first degree is punishable by a mandatory minimum of 25 years in prison.

Clearly, this is a serious charge with lasting consequences if you are convicted. You should obtain representation from an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.

If a police officer or an investigator asks you questions about your relationship or activities with a minor, you are likely being investigated. Any statement you make can and will be used against you. Contact the Berry Law Firm in Omaha or Lincoln as soon as possible.

Protecting Your Rights, Preserving Your Freedom

At the Berry Law Firm, we have more than 40 years of experience defending people accused of serious crimes, including all types of sex offenses. We are fully committed to protecting our clients’ rights at all stages of the legal process. When you hire us to represent you, the Berry Law Firm will work tirelessly to obtain the best possible outcome for you.

Because of the high stakes involved and the possibility of listing on the sex offender registry, most sexual assault charges go to trial. Our attorneys have a great deal of trial experience and the advocacy skills needed to handle these challenging cases. The Berry Law Firm will fight for your rights and freedom every step of the way.